Beauty is Truth, Truth is Beauty

I am constantly hearing about this ‘chose happiness’ lark. You’ve had the worst day in the world but you should always chose happiness. You are skint, the washing up has been sat in the sink for two days now and it pissed it down on your walk to work so much so that your shoes are squelching as you walk around the office but no, you should still chose happiness. You get a parking ticket, a speeding fine and a bill for your MOT all in the same week but nope you should still be happy. I like to see myself as a fairly happy person, I do my best to be as optimistic as possible and as often as I can be but sometimes that just isn’t appropriate. Sometimes you need to strop. Strop hard. Or other times you need to shout and slam the kitchen cupboards. Maybe even huff loud enough so someone asks you what’s wrong and you can have a rant. It doesn’t mean you aren’t happy, it just means you need a break. It doesn’t mean you don’t love the person you are shouting at or shouting about any less, it just means you aren’t choosing happiness in that exact moment, you are choosing to shout and it is in your right to choose.

Every morning I wake up to my Instagram feed inundated with memes about attitudes and mind sets. Don’t tell me who to be at 7AM, I don’t even know who I am at that time. Admittedly it takes the smallest of things to cheer me up; Fresh bed sheets (as a surprise, of course, it’s no fun if you have to do it yourself), flowers and tuna sandwiches. These are all inexpensive things but guaranteed to turn it all around for me, providing sanity on a day which has previously been dedicated to stropping and slamming cupboard doors etc etc. It ain’t all bad, eh? A few years a go I got a tattoo of a quote my Dad once said to me and since I have referred to it more than I thought I would. It gives me clarity, it keeps me soothed and it has kept me strong at times where I didn’t think anything would help. Maybe it will help you, too.

It simply reads:

“Beauty is Truth, Truth is Beauty”  – Keates

Enjoy your sunny Friday.

This entry was published on June 19, 2015 at 1:55 pm. It’s filed under beauty, Family, happiness, life, truth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment